Candidates for Enfield Lock by-election revealed

By Clare Casey in Local People

FIVE contenders all from different political parties have thrown their hat into the ring to be the new councillor for Enfield Lock.

The resignation of Labour’s Ozzie Uzoanya prompted a flurry of activity within the parties of Enfield who have nominated their favourites to be his successor.

Christine Bellas will stand for the Tories; Elif Erbil, Labour; Kate McGeevor, Green Party; Richard Morgan-Ash, Liberal Democrats and Gary Robbens for UKIP.

Enfield Lock residents will have the chance to vote at the by-election on Thursday May 18 when polling stations will open from 7am to 10pm.

Mr Uzoanya quit as one of the three ward councillors at the end of March.

“It is with deep regret that due to family reasons I will be resigning from my position as a councillor for Enfield Lock,” he said at the time.

“In the six years I have served on the council I have taken great pride in seeing a Labour administration work tremendously hard for all residents across the borough.

“I would like to thank council staff and partners for its ongoing efforts to improve Enfield as a whole. I would also like to thank the people of Enfield Lock who put their faith in electing me twice to serve - it’s been a privilege and an honour to serve you.”

There are 63 councillors on Enfield Council – 41 Labour members and 22 Conservatives – and the last borough election was held in 2014.

Add Comment

Add Your Comment

You don't need an account to leave a comment

By posting your comment you agree to our T & C